top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHien Thuy Do

Inspirations

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

Welcome to my first blog post. In this blog, I will share some thoughts about my favorite design.



This amazing poster illustration was done by Rory Kurtz for the movie I, Tonya (2017)


How this poster became my favorite design

“I was really impressed the first time I saw this design. Everything about it is just eye pleasing, from the composition, the colors combination to the typography not to mention the vintage 1980s vibe that the illustrative style is giving off. ”

Perhaps to me, the most interesting thing about this design work is that although the main figure used is in two-dimensional form, the magnification of three dimension is greatly visible. Personally, I didn't realize the picture was 2D until I paid more attention to the frontal part of the hair and started looking down to the skater's hand and legs.


The choice of colors is stunning as well. The use of tints and saturation have created a sense of harmony to the work. I am really fond of the aesthetic, different shades of purple in the design and it is also pleasing that the artist made the background a light, soft color with subtle texture as this gives the main focal point - Margot Robbie a great sense of depth and scale. Some design theories being used in this poster that I have realized are shape, colour, proportion, volume (the three-dimensional broken pieces at the bottom), texture, gesture, movement, rhythm and hierarchy (weight and scale). An additional point I would like to make is that I also love the simplification yet the significance of the typography. The main movie title is simple enough to compliment the imagery but at the same time is sufficiently remarkable to stand out in the design work.


Get Inspired


When I designed my second poster (the movie poster), this design came across my mind as well and due to this influence and the content of the haiku, I also decided to use light purple as part of the background in my work. Please feel free to check it out in the Projects section, Poster 2.

Thank you so much for reading!

Reference

Lundgren, A. (2018). What is Design Theory?. Alvalyn studio. https://alvalyn.com/what-is-design-theory/

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page